

For immediate release

5 Princes Gate London **SW7 10J** United Kingdom Telephone: + 44 20 7808 0988 Fax: + 44 20 7808 0986 info@antofagasta.co.uk

Senior Independent Director and Changes to Board Committees

London, 17 June 2011

In accordance with Listing Rule 9.6.11, Antofagasta plc (the "Company") announces that Mr. William Hayes, a Non-Executive Director of the Company since 2006, has been appointed as Senior Independent Director with effect from 1 July 2011, succeeding Mr. Charles Bailey who retired as a Director at the end of the Annual General Meeting held on 8 June 2011.

The Board has also conducted a review of the composition of its committees. The Company announces that the committees of the Board shall be comprised as follows, with effect from 1 July 2011:

- Audit Committee: Mr. Hayes (chairman), Mr. Juan Claro and Mr. Timothy Baker;
- Nomination Committee: Mr. Jean-Paul Luksic (chairman), Mr. Hayes and Mr. Claro;
- Remuneration Committee: Mr. Baker (chairman), Mr. Hayes and Mr. Claro.

Mr. Gonzalo Menéndez therefore rotates off all Board committees (including the Nomination and Remuneration Committees as chairman). Mr. Ramon Jara rotates off the Nomination Committee as a member.

Enquiries – London

Press Enquiries – London

Email: simon.rothschild@bankside.com

Antofagasta plc Tel: +44 20 7808 0988 www.antofagasta.co.uk

Bankside Consultants Tel: +44 20 7367 8871

Desmond O'Conor Email: doconor@antofagasta.co.uk Simon Rothschild

Hussein Barma

Email: hbarma@antofagasta.co.uk